In 1992 the band embarked upon a very dark album, driven equally by personal traumas, including Justin's near-death electrocution on stage in Switzerland and the changes in the world around them with the collapse of the Soviet Union. Produced by Niko Bolas and mixed by Bob Clearmountain, "The Love Of Hopeless Causes" was not what anyone was expecting. Just as folk-rock, pioneered and inspired in part by NMA's previous two albums, became a fashionable and commercial sound, the band made a deliberate move away from it and straight and into guitar-driven rock music. It was released by Epic at the beginning of 1993.

Track Listing:
01 Here Comes The War (Sullivan, Heaton, Nelson)
02 Fate (Sullivan)
03 Living In The Rose (Sullivan, Heaton)
04 White Light (Sullivan, Heaton)
05 Believe It (Heaton, Sullivan)
06 Understand U (Sullivan, Heaton)
07 My People (Sullivan)
08 These Words (Sullivan)
09 Afternoon Song (Sullivan, Heaton)
10 Bad Old World (Sullivan)

Justin Sullivan - Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Robert Heaton - Drums, Guitars, Backing Vocals
Nelson - Bass, Guitars, Backing Vocals
Adrian Portas - Guitar

Special Guest:
Clive Layton - Hammond Organ on 'Fate'

There are a host of releases of this album from various countries. We've tried to gather all the information out there on the various releases, though doubtless we've missed some...

CT 18/02/1993 UK Hit Factory HFL 019 advance promo
CD 29/03/1993 UK Epic XPCD 259 promo
CD 29/03/1993 UK Epic 473562 2
CT 29/03/1993 UK Epic 473562 4
LP 29/03/1993 UK Epic 473562 1
CD 29/03/1993 NL Epic 473562 2
CT 05/1993 US Epic (Sony) ET 53826 promo
CD 01/06/1993 US Epic EK 53826
CD 1993 JP Epic/Sony ESCA 5795
LP 1993 BR Epic 188.300/1-473562
CD 1993 BR Epic 759.229/2-473562
CT 1993 BR Epic 88.300/4-473562
CT 1993 TR Uzelli (Epic/Sony) 473562 4

Sign up to our incredibly irregular Newsletter

© 1997-2024 New Model Army

Contact| Cookies Policy| Privacy Policy| Terms of use