Carnival Redux

Tickets (and T-shirts) are selling very well for our Global Gathering on 24th October. We will be giving more details of this broadcast very soon. Meanwhile we have had a separate project in the pipeline...


We have always felt that Carnival was the one album where the recording, mixing and mastering didn’t bring the end result close to what we had originally intended in the writing. So when our label, Edel, declared their interest in licensing and reissuing the album (with others to follow), we discovered four associated tracks (B-sides and unreleased songs) to add to it and saw an opportunity to ‘reimagine’ the album as a whole.

We are aware that it is very dangerous for any band to ‘go back’ (and especially unusual for us) – so we made one absolute rule, that we wouldn’t re-record anything and we’d ask Lee Smith, who mixed From Here and Winter, to remix it using only the original multi-tracks, without too much involvement from us. Some songs have changed very little, others quite a lot. And to our minds, this has worked well and has enhanced the album’s principle qualities, particularly the wealth of original musical ideas, at last arranged in a sonically satisfying way to bring out the power, energy and inventiveness of the record. In the spirit of this ‘reimagining’, we have altered the order of the songs a little to include the additions - while our artist, Joolz Denby, has recreated the cover artwork in a wholly new original version.
The album will be available as a limited edition media-book pack and on high quality white double-vinyl. We hope you will enjoy it.

1 Water
2 BD3
3 Rumour and Rapture (1650)
4 Red Earth
5 LS43
6 Island
7 Carlisle Road
8 One Bullet
9 Bluebeat
10 Too Close To The Sun
11 Another Imperial Day
12 Prayerflags
13 Stoned, Fired and Full of Grace
14 Caslen (Christmas)
15 Fireworks Night

The album will be released on November 20th but you can pre-order copies through our Shop:

Your pre-order will automatically entitle you to an instant free download of a digital download of the first ‘single’ – ISLAND – and, exclusively through our Shop, the opportunity to pre-order a special-price T-shirt featuring Joolz’s stunning angel design.  

Sign up to our incredibly irregular Newsletter

© 1997-2022 New Model Army

Contact| Cookies Policy| Privacy Policy| Terms of use