We are very happy to announce our new album! "From Here" will be released on 23rd August 2019. We have often heard it said that the album is dead. We don’t believe this is true; because if you study what people actually watch, while much of it is short hits and Youtube clips, they also love long series that create a particular atmosphere and entry into another world in which they can submerge themselves. Since “Between Dog and Wolf”, we have tried to make records that work in the same way.


Only this time we’ve gone a little further. “From Here” was mostly written in just two months and recorded in only nine days. It has a particular sound and a particular atmosphere that we hope draws people in. We decided to work again with Lee Smith and Jamie Lockhart, with whom we have developed a productive relationship over a few years, and they persuaded us to leave a lot of the details of the music to the spontaneity of the moment, and to go to what is probably the most beautiful recording studio in the world, Ocean Sound Recordings on the tiny Norwegian island of Giske, and let the place do its magic.

We all have different lives and different tastes in many things (including music). One thing we have in common is the love of bleak, open, cold, rugged landscapes – water, snow and rock. So this was the perfect place for us to create something collectively - at all times while we were working, we could see through the windows the sky, the sea and the melting snow on the mountains, all in a constant state of change. No environment has had such an effect on the band’s music since we discovered the Sawmill Studios in Cornwall and created Hex, Thunder & Consolation and Impurity there thirty years ago.

So this album has a feel that is different to our other albums, but it still contains all the elements that characterise our curiously unidentifiable music – perhaps even more than ever. And “From Here” was an obvious title. The record belongs to a very special place and also a particular time – what is happening in the world now and where we are as a band and as people.

Justin, Michael, Dean, Marshall and Ceri.

The album “From Here” will be released on 23rd August 2019 and can be pre-ordered in Hardbook Cd, Vinyl and special splatter vinyl, along with tee shirts from: HERE

We are also happy to announce the dates for the first section of the “From Here” tour – tickets will be on sale from 16th May:

October 2019

08 Southampton, 1865 (UK)
09 Paris, Maroquinerie (FR)
10 Dortmund, FZW (DE)
11 Hamburg, Markthalle (DE)
12 Berlin, Huxleys (DE)
13 Poznan, Tama (PL)
15 Gdynia, Ucho (PL)
16 Warsaw, Proxima (PL)
17 Wroclaw, Stary Klasztor (PL)
18 Krakow, Kwadrat (PL)
19 Budapest, A38 (HU)
20 Vienna, Arena (AT)
22 Winterthur, Salzhaus (CH)
23 Fribourg, Fri-Son (CH)
24 Freiburg, Jazzhaus (DE)
25 Munchen, Backstage (DE)
26 Stuttgart, LKA Longhorn (DE)
27 Nürnberg, Hirsh (DE)
29 Dresden, Beatpol (DE)
30 Frankfurt, Batschkapp (DE)
31 Losheim, Eisenbanhalle (DE)

November 2019

01 Rijkevorsel, De Singer (BE)
02 Strasbourg, Laiterie (FR)
13 Bristol, SWX (UK)
14 London, Electric Ballrom (UK)
15 Cambridge, Junction (UK)
16 Leeds, Stylus (UK)
17 Cardiff, Tramshed (UK)
19 Chester, Live Rooms (UK)
20 Newcastle, Boiler Shop (UK)
21 Edinburgh, Liquid Rooms (UK)
22 Manchester, O2 Ritz (UK)
23 Birmingham, O2 Institute (UK)
30 Istanbul, Zorlu Psm Studio (TR)

December 2019

12 Brighton, Concorde 2 (UK)
13 Amsterdam, Melkweg (NL)
14 Köln, Palladium (DE)
21 Nottingham, Rock City (UK)

For more information and ticket links for these and other shows please see the Tour details on the left.

Sign up to our incredibly irregular Newsletter

© 1997-2024 New Model Army

Contact| Cookies Policy| Privacy Policy| Terms of use